Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco,  Capriccio diabolico for guitar and orchestra op. 85 b

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Concerto n. 1 in D major for guitar and orchestra op. 99

Jean Sibelius, Andante festivo

Franz Schubert, Entr’acte n. 3 from Rosamunde, Princess of Cyprus D. 797

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 3 Counter Dances K 609

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Counter Dance in C major K 587

Ludwig Van Beethoven, German Dance in C major n. 12



You are about to listen to an extraordinary concert, in which the guitarist Gian Marco Ciampa is performing with the Orchestra Giovanile di Roma directed by Vincenzo Di Benedetto. 

After having performed around four continents, Gian Marco Ciampa now prepares his debut in the Aula Magna, the prestigious venue of the IUC-Istituzione Universitaria dei Concerti concert season, after having successfully performed for this institution in various different decentralised venues. 

Ciampa was born in Rome in 1990, and already in 2004 critics wrote: "[He is] a real enfant prodige with a strong musical personality who is standing out on the Italian music panorama" (Newspaper Il Tempo). In 2006 he took part in the television programme “Domenica In – Ieri, oggi e domani” on channel Rai 1, with Pippo Baudo as presenter and Maestro Pippo Caruso as director. After having won prestigious awards in various international competitions (among which the Melbourne International Guitar Competition, the Tokyo International Guitar Competition and the European Guitar Competition in which he was awarded with the Medal of the President of the Italian Republic) and having received the "Chitarra d'oro" prize, he begun a long series of tours that made him become popular in Australia, China, Japan, the U.S., Argentina, Germany, Denmark, Spain, Croatia and the Netherlands. 

For the occasion of the Holocaust Memorial Day he played live on channel Rai3, in front of the authorities reunited in the Sala dei Corazzieri of the Quirinal Palace in Rome. 

The Orchestra Giovanile di Roma (Rome Youth Orchestra), playing with Ciampa in this unmissable concert, was founded in 2009. During the past years it has performed over a hundred concerts in prestigious venues, such as the Auditorium Conciliazione and the Auditorium Parco della Musica in Rome, the Teatro Strehler in Milan, and it has made tours in Russia, France, Spain and Sweden. The director is Vincenzo Di Benedetto. 

The first part of the concert is entirely dedicated to Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Italian composer who, in 1939, was forced by the Racial Laws promulgated by Fascist Italy to migrate to the US - country where he soon reached enormous success. In the past few years his works have been rediscovered and considered as valuable as they really are also in Italy, and Ciampa is going to play two of these. Both the Capriccio Diabolico and the Concerto n. 1 were composed by request of Andrés Segovia, the greatest guitarist of the past century, who was an admirer of Castelnuovo-Tedesco. 

In the second part of the concert the orchestra is going to play the Andante festivo by Jean Sibelius and works by three great viennese classical composers: the world-famous Intermezzo n. 3 from Rosamunde by Franz Schubert, and two gems such as the Four Counter Dances by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and the German Dance n. 12 by Ludwig van Beethoven. 


Introduction to the concert from the official site of IUC - Istituzione Universitaria dei Concerti: https:// www.concertiiuc.it/events/orchestra-giovanile-italiana/. English translation by Marianna Gallerano




The closing concert of the 2018-2019 IUC season hosts the performance of the Italian guitarist Gian Marco Ciampa with the Orchestra Giovanile di Roma directed by Vincenzo di Benedetto. 

The first part of the concert focuses on the works by Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco, composer from Florence who was widely celebrated with many different initiatives last year, on the 50th anniversary of his death. The concert begins with the Capriccio Diabolico for guitar and orchestra op. 85b, in it’s very first performance in Italy. Composed for Andrés Segovia in 1935 as a piece for guitar solo, the Capriccio Diabolico was orchestrated in 1945 by Castelnuovo-Tedesco himself. The author though never had the chance to hear this orchestral version, since its first performance was only in 1995 - in Norway, by the guitarist Martin Mastik with the Bergen Filharmoniske Orkester and director Dmitri Kitajlenko.

Mº Angelo Gilardino refers that Castelnuovo-Tedesco came up with this orchestration after a performance of the solo version by the guitarist Segovia that the composer did not fully enjoy. He therefore decided to “anchor the guitar to a more solid and ordered rhythmic pace, enriching the timbre too” in order to avoid freedoms “of such kind, that would weaken the music’s  nature, which should be capricious but not shapeless”. 

As we read in the subheading, the Capriccio Diabolico is a tribute to the virtuoso violinist and guitarist Niccolò Paganini, world-famous for his 24 Caprices for solo violin op. 1: there is a myth surrounding Paganini's person, according to which he gained his extraordinary musical skills by making a deal with the devil. Paganini's double musical soul - the explosive virtuoso's and the one expressing soft cantabiles - stands out in Castelnuovo-Tedesco's work, also through direct  quotes of compositions by the genovese violinist and guitarist, such as a section from the Grande Sonata for solo guitar or the motif from "La Campanella" in the final measures.  


Excerpt from the Concert Programme by Marco Surace, of which the full printed version in Italian is available at the concert's venue. English translation by Marianna Gallerano 


Istituzione Universitaria dei Concerti

Lungotevere Flaminio, 50 00196 Roma


tel. +39 06 3610051/2 fax +39 06 36001511


  • IUC
  • IUC
  • IUC

Creavit libenter Matthaeus Macinanti anno MMXIX